Cooking Authentic Jap Food in 5 Minutes

Posted on Updated on

It’s a marvel how I can cheat my way into eating home-cooked Japanese food that tastes as good as something a Japanese grandma might prepare for her visiting grandchildren.

IMG_9048

Although I can proudly say that I have once tried making great-tasting udon from scratch, I’m not sure I’m willing to do all those pounding and rolling and thin-slicing every time I get the craving for these noodles. Especially since fresh ones are readily available in every supermarket I pass by to and from work. Just drop a handful in a pot of boiling water, wait a few, and they’re done!

IMG_9034

They’re cheap too! Because even though these noodles look like they were specially handmade early in the morning by a hardworking grandma (these ones probably are), they only cost as much as a bag of potato chips. And when I saw “Serving size: Good For Two” I was immediately sold.

IMG_9059

We’ve been eating these noodles on a weekly basis now, and we never get tired of it. In fact, they seem to be getting tastier and tastier every time we have it.

IMG_9042

And right across the aisle where they have the noodles is a long rack of golden brown tempuras fresh out of the deep-friers and ready for consumption. How da heck can I say no?

7 thoughts on “Cooking Authentic Jap Food in 5 Minutes

    camille said:
    February 2, 2013 at 12:35 am

    I had to stop looking at your blog after two posts, seeing as it’s past midnight and it’s making me hungry! Haha. Sometimes, nothing really beats a simple bowl of udon, right? I would love to try making it from scratch sometime, even if it looks like hella work.

      Nekodomo responded:
      February 2, 2013 at 12:46 am

      Nothing really ever does beat an udon bowl. Specially if there’s tempura involved haha.

      The noodles are a bit tricky especially if you haven’t tried it before, I had the privilege of participating in a cooking demo so that’s off the bucket list!

    japalian said:
    February 2, 2013 at 9:05 am

    I am always in awe of Japanese supermarkets…they have everything and anything. Sushi, sashimi, tempura, onigiri, bento boxes, karaage and all other Japanese dishes you can think of…and it all looks delicious! Even in Seven Eleven they sell onigiri! I love it! Plus its so cheap….I’m sure all of those late night overtime workers enjoy picking these up on their way home.

      Nekodomo responded:
      February 2, 2013 at 10:33 am

      Yeah, that’s why I have to remind myself not to shop in an empty stomach. It’s so easy to grab a bag of those cooked food.

      I have to confess though, I’ve been so lazy making breakfast early in the morning that I always buy onigiri instead haha. Have you seen all those new flavors lately?

        japalian said:
        February 2, 2013 at 10:43 am

        Haha I would too if I lived in Japan. When I went to Japan in December last year I saw them!

    potsquared said:
    February 13, 2013 at 11:34 am

    yummy! my stomach is rumbling right now..

      Nekodomo responded:
      February 13, 2013 at 5:58 pm

      Easy cook, just-heat, kake-udon with tempura! Our go-to meal during Friday nights hehe

Leave a comment